At its plenary session in April 2018, the German Council for Sustainable Development adopted the alpha version of the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions, which had been jointly developed by numerous universities. In order to enable detailed and professionalised sustainability reporting at universities, the Sustainability Code was further developed and modified to meet the specific requirements of universities.

In the newest version of the German Sustainable Development Strategy, the Federal Government recognises its responsibility with regard to the 2030 Agenda and the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Higher education institutions are given a role of particular significance with respect to implementing these goals. It is their spaces where ideas receive critical reflection, are discarded, old ones reinvigorated and new ones created; they are the places where people research, teach and learn. Future decision makers are trained and given the necessary skills for the challenges they will face. Higher education institutions create societal competence through transference to individuals and thus help shape societal discourse and dialogue.

Higher education institutions clear the way for change processes and contribute to developing potential solutions to current crises by opening up various possible paths towards sustainable development. This happens with both inward directionality, e.g. through specific teaching content on sustainability and in research or through the coordination and management of sustainable operations, and outward directionality, e.g. through the transference of insights from sustainability research to other areas of society.

Higher education institutions are increasingly using sustainability reporting in order to present transparently their contribution to research and teaching as well as the operation of the institution in respect of sustainable development and to sharpen their institution’s sustainability profile in the long term. Sustainability reports are a suitable instrument for communicating recognition of responsibility for society and describing how the challenges presented by sustainable development are being actively confronted. Through mid 2016, 40 sustainability reports from 21 higher education institutions were published in Germany (Azizi et al., 2018).
Against this backdrop, the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE) came together in 2015 with around 50 representatives of higher education institutions to begin adjusting the overall German Sustainability Code to the needs of such institutions. The development comprised an intensive discussion and exchange process over three quarters of a year, resulting in a beta version of the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions. From late 2016 to early 2018 the beta version was then tested by a total of 12 pilot higher education institutions as part of the joint project “Sustainability at Higher Education Institutions: develop – network – report” (HOCH-N) supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The higher education institutions participating in the pilot project are:

- Freie Universität Berlin
- Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development
- Kaiserslautern University of Applied Sciences
- Trier University of Applied Sciences
- Zittau/Görlitz University of Applied Sciences 
- Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
- Leuphana University of Lüneburg
- Technical University Darmstadt
- Technical University Dresden 
- University of Duisburg-Essen
- University of Hamburg
- University of Tübingen

Following conclusion of this application phase in early 2018 a final version of the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions was prepared via a participatory process together with the pilot higher education institutions as part of the HOCH-N project. The final version was subsequently approved by the German Council for Sustainable Development in spring and presented to the public in mid-May 2018. In October 2018 HOCH-N published a beta version of guideline for applying the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions.
The Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions aims to reinforce higher education institutions in their role as change shapers.
  • It helps higher education institutions to communicate their sustainability activities.
  • It strives to enable more higher education institutions to orient their quality and strategy development as well as internal management more strongly towards the principles of sustainable development.
  • Via its concise user-friendly form, it offers a low-barrier path of entry to sustainability reporting.
  • It is compatible with many monitoring and reporting systems. 
  • It creates a sound basis for further sustainability-oriented efforts.
For questions regarding the content or development process of the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions, please contact:

PD Dr Remmer Sassen
University of Hamburg
Tel.: +49 40 42838 7966
Email: remmer.sassen(at)wiso.uni-hamburg.de

For technical questions regarding the preparation of a declaration of conformity with the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions, please contact:

Sustainability Code Office
Tel.: +49 30 700186 974
Email: team(at)sustainabilitycode.org
 
  • Current version of the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions  
  • Sample declarations of conformity with the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions in the database of Sustainability Code
  • Image gallery from the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions event in Berlin on 15.5.2018
  • Additional information on the HOCH-N project website
The latest version of the Sustainability Code for Higher Education Institutions can be found here. More information
Click here for further information on the BMBF (German federal ministry of Education and Research) joint project HOCH-N, its fields of action as well as the participating universities. More information

Hochschul-DNK

In seiner Sitzung im April 2018 hat der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung die von zahlreichen Hochschulen gemeinschaftlich erarbeitete Alpha-Version des Hochschul-DNK verabschiedet. Um eine detaillierte und professionalisierte Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung an Hochschulen zu ermöglichen, wurde der DNK für die spezifischen Anforderungen von Hochschulen weiterentwickelt und modifiziert.

In der Neuauflage der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie bekennt sich die Bundesregierung zur Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung mit ihren 17 globalen Nachhaltigkeitszielen, den Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Den Hochschulen ist bei der Umsetzung der Ziele eine besondere Bedeutung beizumessen. An ihnen wird kritisch reflektiert, verworfen, Altes aufgegriffen und Neues erschaffen, geforscht, gelehrt und gelernt. Es werden zukünftige Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger ausgebildet und zum Handeln befähigt. Hochschulen vermitteln über Personen Kompetenzen in die Gesellschaft und nehmen damit Einfluss auf gesellschaftliche Diskurse und Debatten.

Hochschulen können den Weg für Veränderungsprozesse bereiten und einen Beitrag dazu leisten, Lösungsvorschläge für aktuelle Krisen zu entwerfen, indem sie verschiedene Pfadoptionen in Richtung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung eröffnen. Dies geschieht sowohl nach innen, z.B. durch ausdrücklich nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Ansätze in Lehre und Forschung oder die Koordination und das Management von Nachhaltigkeit im Betrieb, als auch nach außen, z.B. durch den Transfer von Erkenntnissen der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in andere Gesellschaftsbereiche.

Hochschulen gehen immer häufiger dazu über, Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung einzusetzen, um sowohl ihren Beitrag durch Forschung und Lehre als auch im Betrieb der Hochschule zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung transparent darzustellen und um langfristig ihr institutionelles Nachhaltigkeitsprofil zu schärfen. Nachhaltigkeitsberichte sind ein geeignetes Instrument, um die Übernahme gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung zu kommunizieren und darzulegen, wie den Herausforderungen einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung aktiv begegnet wird. In Deutschland wurden bis Mitte 2016 40 Nachhaltigkeitsberichte von 21 Hochschulen publiziert (Azizi et al. 2018).

 
Vor diesem Hintergrund hat der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2015 zusammen mit rund 50 Hochschulvertreterinnen und -vertretern begonnen, den Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitskodex für Hochschulen anzupassen. Die Erarbeitung erfolgte in einem dreivierteljährigen, intensiven Austausch- und Diskussionsprozess, der im Frühjahr eine Beta-Version des Nachhaltigkeitskodex für Hochschulen (HS-DNK) hervorbrachte. Von Ende 2016 bis Anfang 2018 wurde die Beta-Version von insgesamt zwölf Pilothochschulen im Rahmen des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Verbundprojekts „Nachhaltigkeit an Hochschulen (HOCH-N): entwickeln – vernetzen – berichten” getestet. Bei den Pilothochschulen handelt es sich im Einzelnen um:
 
- Freie Universität Berlin
- Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde (FH)
- Hochschule Kaiserslautern
- Hochschule Trier
- Hochschule Zittau/Görlitz 
- Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
- Leuphana Universität Lüneburg
- Technische Universität Darmstadt
- Technische Universität Dresden 
- Universität Duisburg-Essen
- Universität Hamburg
- Universität Tübingen
 
Nach Abschluss der Anwendungsphase Anfang 2018 wurde im Rahmen des HOCH-N-Projekts in einem partizipativen Prozess zusammen mit den Pilothochschulen eine finale Fassung des HS-DNK erstellt, die vom Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung im Frühjahr 2018 beschlossen und der Öffentlichkeit Mitte Mai 2018 vorgestellt wurde. Im Oktober 2018 hat HOCH-N eine Betaversion für einen Leitfaden zur Anwendung des HS-DNK veröffentlicht..
Der hochschulspezifische Nachhaltigkeitskodex möchte die Hochschulen in ihrer Rolle als Gestalterinnen von Veränderungen stärken.
 
  • Er unterstützt Hochschulen ihre Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten darzulegen.
  • Er zielt darauf ab, noch mehr Hochschulen zu ermöglichen, ihre Qualitäts- und Strategieentwicklung und ihr internes Management stärker an den Grundsätzen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung auszurichten.
  • Er schafft durch seine komprimierte, anwendungsfreundliche Form einen leichten Einstieg in die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung.
  • Er ist mit vielen Monitoring- und Berichtssystemen kompatibel.  
  • Er stellt eine gute Basis für weitere Nachhaltigkeitsbemühungen dar.

 
Bei Fragen rund um die Inhalte und den Prozess zum hochschulspezifischen Nachhaltigkeitskodex wenden Sie sich gerne an:
 
PD Dr. Remmer Sassen
Universität Hamburg
Tel.: +49 40 42838 7966
E-Mail: remmer.sassen@wiso.uni-hamburg.de
 
Für technische Fragen bei der Erstellung der Entsprechenserklärung zum HS-DNK kontaktieren Sie bitte:
 
Büro Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitskodex
Tel.: +49 30 700186-974
E-Mail: team@nachhaltigkeitskodex.org
 
Hier gelangen Sie zum DNK für Hochschulen und seinen 20 Kriterien. Weitere Informationen
Die Betaversion des Leitfadens zur Anwendung des hochschulspezifischen Nachhaltigkeitskodex mit Anwendungsbeispielen einzelner Hochschulen finden Sie hier. Weitere Informationen
Klicken Sie hier für weitere Informationen zum BMBF-Verbundprojekt HOCH-N, seinen Handlungsfeldern und den beteiligten Hochschulen. Weitere Informationen