About the Sustainability Code

Users include large and small, public and private companies both with and without pre-existing sustainability reporting, companies with a reporting obligation and organisations that wish to inform stakeholders about their achievements in the area of sustainability or that are only just getting started in this regard. To comply with the Sustainability Code, users submit a declaration to the Code database of conformity with 20 Code criteria and the additional non-financial performance indicators taken from the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) and the European Federation of Financial Analysts Societies (EFFAS).

5 Benefits of the Code

What does the Code offer?

  1. It provides support with establishing a sustainable development strategy and offers a way in to sustainability reporting. Regular reporting makes a company’s development over time visible.
  2. It gives guidance on how to comply with the CSR reporting obligation and practically implement the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights.
  3. The Sustainability Code Office checks the declarations of conformity for formal completeness and gives the users qualified feedback.
  4. The publicly accessible Code database creates visibility. The published reports can be compared with one another.
  5. Use of the Code is free of charge. The Sustainability Code Office and the Code training partners and mentors provide reporting assistance.


 

Sustainable Development Goals
With the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the 2030 Agenda, the member states of the United Nations reached agreement for the first time on global sustainability goals and the principles laid out in the Agenda. The 17 SDGs and their corresponding 169 sub-goals apply equally to developing, newly industrialised and developed countries. They can therefore offer companies guidance both at home and abroad. Implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals occurs primarily at the national level. In Germany, the German Sustainable Development Strategy was adopted to this end in 2017. It incorporates the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals as a political guiding principle and specifies the measures the federal government will to use to implement them within Germany, by way of German foreign and development policy as well as through innovative “made in Germany” solutions. The federal government outlines the measures it intends to implement in various areas of policymaking up to 2030 with respect to specific national sustainable development goals. Of particular interest for companies are the sustainable development goals and indicators relevant for their areas of business and sector as well as the measures for reaching these goals. Only a few goals and indicators have specific relevance for the private sector. Reporting on the corresponding topics is also carried out via a declaration of conformity with the Code (in particular via Code criteria 4, 10, 11–13, 14–17 and supplementary indicators). In individual cases  depending on the sector concerned and its prospects for the future, additional sustainable development goals from the German Sustainable Development Strategy may be relevant for companies.

CSR Directive Implementation Act
In December 2014, the European Commission passed a Directive that expanded reporting requirements to include non-financial aspects and aspects related to diversity (2014/95/EU). In March 2017, the Directive was made German law by way of the CSR Directive Implementation Act (CSR-RUG). A reporting obligation applies to certain companies and corporations for all reporting years beginning after 31 December 2016. Such companies are required to publish in the context of their management reporting for each financial year a non-financial (consolidated) declaration of conformity (as part of the management report) or a non-financial (consolidated) report (as a separate document) in which information is provided about material non-financial matters. The Sustainability Code may serve as a recognised framework for preparation of the non-financial (consolidated) declaration of conformity or the non-financial (consolidated) report in compliance with CSR-RUG. This entails the policies, risks and relevant performance indicators for the legally stipulated aspects of the environment, labour rights, human rights, social affairs and compliance being reported on. Detailed information regarding the users, review obligations and process recommendations can be found here.

National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights
As part of a voluntary joint commitment, the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights (NAPWiMr) ratified by the federal government at the end of 2016 formulates goals for the implementation of the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights in companies and in particular the improvement of the human rights situation throughout the worldwide supply and value chain. According to the Action Plan, by the year 2020 at least 50% of all companies with over 500 employees are to have integrated human rights due diligence obligations into their processes. Companies can use the declaration of conformity with the Code (in particular criterion 17) to present the processes relevant to their commitment to human rights protection within the meaning of the NAP (see Glossary).

Paris Agreement
In April 2016, 175 countries including the United States, China and Germany signed the Paris Agreement as a replacement of the Kyoto Protocol. By signing up to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), the member states made a binding commitment to limit global warming to significantly less than 2 °C – and if possible to less than 1.5 °C – above its pre-industrialisation level. According to the Paris Agreement, carbon emissions will need to be reduced by 80–95% by 2050 in order for this goal to be achieved. Companies can use the Code criteria 11–13 to report on how they are responding to their responsibility for climate protection by describing there, for example, the goals they have set and measures they have taken to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions.
The Sustainability Code was developed in 2010 as an international transparency standard of corporate responsibility by the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE) in dialogue with representatives from politics, the capital market, the business community and non-governmental organisations. The Council presented the first draft of the Code at the end of 2010 and invited further companies and the public to provide feedback. The Council subsequently received close to 80 comments and discussion contributions. The Code’s development was overseen academically by Prof. Dr Alexander Bassen, member of the German Council for Sustainable Development and Professor of Capital Markets and Management at the University of Hamburg. The contributions, a qualification workshop with companies and the experience derived from a practical test formed the basis for the further development of the draft. At a multi-stakeholder forum held in mid-2011, questions regarding the applicability of the Code and its implementation were discussed. The results then flowed into the RNE’s legislative meeting held in October 2011. The companies’ Code declarations were initially published in PDF form on the RNE website. Since the beginning of 2012, the RNE Office has been organising the Code, working on its further development, drawing attention to it in the public debate and facilitating its use by businesses.
After two years of practical application, the German Council for Sustainable Development reviewed and thoroughly revised the Code in 2014. This revision was triggered by the GRI’s update of its guidelines from G3.1 to G4. The revision also incorporated feedback from the practical experience of both companies and the RNE Office: criteria and performance indicator redundancies were eliminated and the requirements were stipulated more precisely. To this end, national and international representatives of the business community, associations, policymakers, consultants and scientists were invited to discuss the draft again.

A digital Code database was set up in order to improve the visibility and comparability of the published declarations and the sustainability information they contain. Its implementation was backed by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of a project by the Sustainable Business Institute (SBI).

After the Bundestag passed the “Act to strengthen non-financial reporting by companies in their management reports and group management reports” (CSR Directive Implementation Act [CSR-RUG]) on 9 March 2017, the Code was updated and (with legal support from Mr Andreas Hecker, a lawyer at Hoffmann, Liebs, Fritsch & Partner Rechtsanwälte mbB) aligned with the newly formulated statutory requirements. Passages relating to specific criteria and the Code materials were revised and the Code database was modified accordingly with a view to providing companies affected by the reporting obligation with concrete guidance on compliance. In particular, criterion 2 was revised in line with the definition of materiality within the EU Directive and CSR-RUG and the text for criterion 1 was clarified in order to clearly differentiate these two criteria from one another. In addition, the “four-pronged approach” stipulated by the Act for describing individual issues (namely: policy, results of the policies, risks, indicators) was taken up in the review process and the terminology used for the criteria was revised to correspond to the Act. Companies can now state in the database whether they are subject to the reporting obligation and want to use their Code declaration as a non-financial declaration as per the CSR-RUG. In this instance, the Code Office assesses it for compliance with the legally stipulated content, in addition to the Code criteria, and points out any gaps. The Code Office has developed a corresponding signet to communicate compliance.

In July 2018, the G4 indicator set was removed from the Code database in line with the GRI transitional period. Going forward, only the GRI SRS (Sustainability Reporting Standards) and EFFAS KPIs for ESG can be reported. This entails no other changes to content.
Additionally, the core elements of human rights due diligence obligations were incorporated into the reporting requirements in autumn 2018. In addition to the content stipulated by criterion 17 of the Sustainability Code, companies can now also voluntarily report on the key content of the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights and have the Code Office review this for formal completeness.

CSR reporting obligation

The Code declaration of conformity can serve as a non-financial declaration in order to comply with the CSR reporting obligation. Users therefor report in criterion 11, 14, 17, 18 and20 , das DNK the Sustainability Code Office checks for formal completeness.

More information

NAP Business and Human Rights

The Code declaration of conformity can be used to report the core elements of the human rights due diligence obligations as per the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights. Users therefor report in criterion 17, the Sustainability Code Office checks for formal completeness.

More information

Code criteria

You can find the Sustainability Code criteria and information on applying and checking them here.

More information

Support

Learn more about the support services offered by the Sustainability Code office, training partners and mentors. More information

Sustainable business practice

Sustainability and good corporate governance need to become the global standard of business in order for the Paris climate goals and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals to be achieved.

More information

About the Council

The German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE) is an advisory body with a mandate from the German federal government.

More information

Der Nachhaltigkeitskodex

Der Anwenderkreis umfasst große und kleine, öffentliche und private Unternehmen mit und ohne Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung, berichtspflichtige Unternehmen und all jene Organisationen, die ihre Stakeholder über ihre Nachhaltigkeitsleistungen informieren wollen. Um den Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitskodex (DNK) zu erfüllen, erstellen Anwender in der DNK-Datenbank eine Erklärung zu zwanzig DNK-Kriterien und den ergänzenden nichtfinanziellen Leistungsindikatoren, die aus Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) und European Federation of Financial Analysts Societies (EFFAS) ausgewählt wurden.

5 Vorteile des DNK - Was leistet der DNK ?

  1. Er unterstützt den Aufbau einer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und bietet einen Einstieg in die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung. Regelmäßig zu berichten, macht die Entwicklung des Unternehmens im Zeitverlauf sichtbar.

  2. Er gibt Orientierung, wie die CSR-Berichtspflicht sowie der Nationale Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte praktisch umgesetzt werden kann.

  3. Das Büro Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitskodex prüft die DNK-Erklärungen auf formale Vollständigkeit, Anwender erhalten qualifiziertes Feedback.

  4. Die allgemein zugängliche DNK-Datenbank erzeugt Sichtbarkeit. Die veröffentlichten Berichte können miteinander verglichen werden.

  5. Der DNK ist kostenlos. Das Büro Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitskodex, die DNK-Schulungspartner und -Mentoren unterstützen bei der Berichterstattung.

Sustainable Development Goals
Mit den Sustainable Development Goals  (SDGs) der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung haben die Mitgliedsstaaten der Vereinten Nationen erstmals globale Nachhaltigkeitsziele und die in der Agenda benannten Prinzipien beschlossen. Die 17 SDGs und deren 169 Unterziele gelten gleichermaßen für Entwicklungs-, Schwellen- sowie Industrieländer. Sie sind damit auch für deutsche Unternehmen als Orientierung im In- und Ausland geeignet. Die Umsetzung dieser globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele erfolgt primär auf nationaler Handlungsebene. In Deutschland gibt es hierzu die 2017 beschlossene Deutsche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie . Sie integriert die 17 globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele als politische Leitlinien und benennt die Maßnahmen der Bundesregierung für eine Umsetzung innerhalb Deutschlands mit den Mitteln der deutschen Außen- und Entwicklungspolitik sowie durch innovative Lösungen des „Made in Germany“. Die Bundesregierung legt dar, zu welchen nationalen Nachhaltigkeitszielen sie bis zum Jahr 2030 in den verschiedenen Politikbereichen Maßnahmen ergreifen will. Für Unternehmen von besonderem Interesse sind die für ihre Geschäftsfelder und ihr Umfeld relevanten Nachhaltigkeitsziele und -indikatoren sowie Maßnahmen zur Erreichung der Ziele. Explizit haben nur wenige Ziele und Indikatoren Relevanz für den Privatsektor. Über entsprechende Themen wird auch im Rahmen einer DNK-Erklärung berichtet (insbesondere über die DNK-Kriterien 4, 10, 11–13, 14–17 und ergänzende Leistungsindikatoren). Im Einzelfall können in Abhängigkeit  konkreter Geschäftsfelder und von deren Zukunftsaussichten weitere Nachhaltigkeitsziele aus der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für Unternehmen relevant sein.

CSR-Berichtspflicht
Im Dezember 2014 hat die EU-Kommission eine Richtlinie zur Erweiterung der finanziellen Berichterstattung um nichtfinanzielle und die Diversität betreffende Aspekte verabschiedet (2014/95/EU ). Im März 2017 wurde diese Richtlinie mit dem CSR-Richtlinie-Umsetzungsgesetz (CSR-RUG) ins deutsche Recht überführt . Die Berichtspflicht betrifft ausgewählte Unternehmen und Konzerne und gilt für alle nach dem 31. Dezember 2016 beginnenden Berichtsjahre. Diese sind demzufolge verpflichtet, künftig zu jedem Geschäftsjahr im Kontext der Lageberichterstattung eine nichtfinanzielle (Konzern-)Erklärung (als Teil des Lageberichts) bzw. einen nichtfinanziellen (Konzern-)Bericht (als separates Dokument) abzugeben, in welchem wesentliche nichtfinanzielle Belange dargelegt werden. Für die Erstellung der nichtfinanziellen (Konzern-)Erklärung bzw. eines nichtfinanziellen (Konzern-)Berichts zur Erfüllung des CSR-RUG kann der DNK als anerkanntes Rahmenwerk genutzt werden. Hierfür müssen zu den gesetzlich gesetzten Belangen Umwelt, Arbeitnehmerrechte, Menschenrechte, Soziales und Compliance jeweils die Konzepte, Risiken und relevante Leistungsindikatoren berichtet werden. Ausführliche Informationen zu Anwenderkreis, Prüfpflichten und Prozessempfehlung finden Sie hier.

Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte
Der von der Bundesregierung Ende 2016 beschlossene Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte (NAPWiMr) formuliert im Sinne einer freiwilligen Übereinkunft Ziele für die Umsetzung der UN-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte (engl.: UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights) in Unternehmen und speziell für die Verbesserung der menschenrechtlichen Lage entlang von Liefer- und Wertschöpfungsketten weltweit. Nach dem Aktionsplan sollen bis 2020 mindestens 50 % aller Unternehmen mit über 500 Mitarbeitenden menschenrechtliche Sorgfaltspflichten in ihre Prozesse integriert haben. Unternehmen können die DNK-Erklärung (insbesondere Kriterium 17) nutzen, um entsprechende Prozesse zu ihrem Engagement für Menschenrechte im Sinne des NAP offenzulegen (siehe Glossar).

Klimaabkommen von Paris 
Im April 2016 unterzeichneten 175 Staaten, darunter die Vereinigten Staaten, China und Deutschland, das Klimaabkommen von Paris  (engl.: Paris Agreement) als Nachfolge des Kyoto-Protokolls. Die Mitgliedsstaaten haben mit der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen (UNFCCC) völkerrechtlich bindend vereinbart, die globale Erwärmung auf deutlich unter 2 °C, wenn möglich auf unter 1,5 °C über dem vorindustriellen Niveau zu begrenzen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, ist nach dem Übereinkommen von Paris eine Senkung der CO2-Emissionen um 80–95 % bis 2050 erforderlich. Um zu berichten, wie sie ihrer Verantwortung für den Klimaschutz nachkommen, nutzen Unternehmen die DNK-Kriterien 11–13 und beschreiben dort beispielsweise ihre Ziele und Maßnahmen zur Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen.
Ende 2010 legte der Nachhaltigkeitsrat daraufhin den ersten Entwurf vor und lud weitere Unternehmen und die Öffentlichkeit zur Konsultation ein. Knapp achtzig Stellungnahmen und Diskussionsbeiträge gingen daraufhin beim Rat ein. Die Entwicklung wurde durch Prof. Dr. Alexander Bassen, Mitglied im Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung und Professor für Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Hamburg, wissenschaftlich begleitet. Die Beiträge, ein Qualifizierungs-Workshop mit Unternehmen und die Erfahrungen aus einem Praxistest bildeten die Grundlage für die Weiterentwicklung des Entwurfs. Auf einem Multistakeholderforum Mitte 2011 wurden Fragen nach dem Geltungsbereich des Kodex und seiner Implementierung diskutiert. Die Ergebnisse flossen dann in die beschlussfassende Sitzung des Nachhaltigkeitsrates im Oktober 2011 ein. Anfänglich wurden die DNK-Erklärungen der Unternehmen auf der Webseite des Nachhaltigkeitsrates als PDF veröffentlicht. Seit Anfang 2012 organisiert die Geschäftsstelle des Rates für Nachhaltige Entwicklung den DNK, arbeitet an seiner Weiterentwicklung und bringt ihn in die öffentliche Diskussion und unternehmerische Praxis ein.

Nach zwei Jahren der praktischen Anwendung überprüfte und überarbeitete der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung den DNK grundlegend im Jahr 2014. Anlass für die Aktualisierung war die Fortschreibung der GRI-Leitlinien von G 3.1 auf G 4. In die Überarbeitung flossen auch Erfahrungen aus der praktischen Anwendung sowohl von Unternehmen als auch der Geschäftsstelle des Nachhaltigkeitsrates ein: Redundanzen in Kriterien und Leistungsindikatoren wurden beseitigt und die Anforderungen insgesamt präziser gefasst. Hierfür wurden erneut nationale und internationale Vertreter aus Wirtschaft, Verbänden, Politik, Beratung und Wissenschaft eingeladen, den Entwurf zu diskutierten.

Eine digitale DNK-Datenbank wurde aufgesetzt, um die Sichtbarkeit und Vergleichbarkeit der veröffentlichten Erklärungen und der enthaltenen Nachhaltigkeitsinformationen zu erhöhen. Die Umsetzung wurde im Rahmen eines Projektes des Sustainable Business Institute (SBI) vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.

Nachdem am 09. März 2017 der Deutsche Bundestag das „Gesetz zur Stärkung der nichtfinanziellen Berichterstattung der Unternehmen in ihren Lage- und Konzernlageberichten“ (CSR-Richtlinie-Umsetzungsgesetz) beschlossen hatte, wurde der DNK aktualisiert und (mit juristischer Unterstützung von RA Andreas Hecker von der Anwaltskanzlei Hoffmann, Liebs, Fritsch & Partner Rechtsanwälte mbB) an die gesetzlich formulierten Anforderungen angepasst. Um den von der Berichtspflicht betroffenen Unternehmen konkrete Hilfestellungen zur Erfüllung der Berichtspflicht zu liefern, wurden einzelne Kriterientexte sowie die DNK-Materialien überarbeitet und die DNK-Datenbank entsprechend umgestellt. Hierfür wurde insbesondere Kriterium 2 auf den in EU-Richtlinie und CSR-RUG grundgelegten Wesentlichkeitsbegriff umformuliert und der Text zu Kriterium 1 konkretisiert, um diese beiden Kriterien deutlich voneinander abzugrenzen. Zudem wurde der im Gesetz geforderte Vierklang in der Beschreibung der einzelnen Belange (nämlich Konzept, Ergebnisse der Konzepte, Risiken, Indikatoren) in den Prüfprozess aufgenommen sowie die Kriterien begrifflich dem Gesetz zugeordnet. Unternehmen können seitdem in der Datenbank angeben, ob sie berichtspflichtig sind und ihre DNK-Erklärung als nichtfinanzielle Erklärung im Sinne des CSR-RUG nutzen möchten. In diesem Fall prüft das DNK-Büro, ob zusätzlich zu den Kriterien des DNK auch die gesetzlich geforderten Inhalte vorliegen, und weist ggf. auf Lücken hin. Für die Kommunikation hat das DNK-Büro ein entsprechendes Signet entwickelt.

Im Juli 2018 wurde in der DNK-Datenbank das G4-Indikatorenset entsprechend der Übergangsphase der GRI eingestellt. Fortan können nur noch die GRI SRS  (Sustainability Reporting Standards) und EFFAS KPIs for ESG berichtet werden. Inhaltlich gehen damit keine weiteren Änderungen einher.
Im Herbst 2018 wurden zudem die Kernelemente menschenrechtlicher Sorgfaltspflicht in die Berichtsanforderungen integriert. Unternehmen können nun auf freiwilliger Basis zusätzlich zu den Inhalten des DNK in Kriterium 17 auch die wesentlichen Inhalte zum Nationalen Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte berichten und vom DNK-Büro auf formale Vollständigkeit prüfen lassen.

CSR-Richtlinie-Umsetzungsgesetz (CSR-RUG)

Die DNK-Erklärung kann als nichtfinanzielle Erklärung zur Erfüllung der CSR-Berichtspflicht genutzt werden. Anwender berichten dabei die gesetzlich geforderten Belange in den Kriterien 11, 14, 17, 18 und 20 , das DNK-Team prüft entsprechend auf formale Vollständigkeit. Das finale Dokument kann als gesonderter Bericht heruntergeladen werden.

Weitere Informationen

Nationaler Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte (NAP)

Die DNK-Erklärung kann zur Berichterstattung der Kernelemente menschenrechtlicher Sorgfaltspflichten des Nationalen Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte genutzt werden. Anwender berichten diese in Kriterium 17, das DNK-Büro prüft entsprechend auf formale Vollständigkeit.

Weitere Informationen

DNK-Kriterien

Die DNK-Kriterien sowie Hinweise zur Anwendung und Prüfung können Sie hier einsehen.

Weitere Informationen

Branche und Sprache

Der DNK ist in mehreren Sprachen und in branchenspezifischen Ergänzungen verfügbar.

Weitere Informationen

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften

Nachhaltigkeit und gute Unternehmensführung muss in der Wirtschaft zum globalen Standard werden, um die Pariser Klimaziele und die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UN zu erreichen.

Weitere Informationen

Über den Rat

Der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (RNE) ist ein Beratungsgremium mit Mandat der Bundesregierung.

Weitere Informationen